header
 
Home
History
Administration
Departments and Staff
Geology
Mineralogy-Petrology-Economic Geology
Geophysics
Meteorology and Climatology
Physical and Environmental Geography
Seismological Station
Research
Undergraduate Studies
Web Learn
Postgraduate Studies
Library
Phones/E-mails
Contact
Miscellaneous
 
Home Departments and Staff Department of Geology
 
Department of Geology
 
Founded in 2001. Derived by the division of the former Department of Geology and Physical Geography, already operating since 1983.

The Department is located in:
- Building of the Faculty of Sciences (Ground Floor, West Wing)
- Building of the Faculty of Sciences (2nd Floor, East Wing)
- Building of the Faculty of Sciences (New Wing)

 
Head
Professor Kilias, Adamantios kilias@geo.auth.gr Tel. +30 2310 99.8458
 

Administration Office

Christou, Dimitra dimitra@geo.auth.gr Tel. +30 2310 99.8558
Papachristou, Maria mariap@geo.auth.gr 99.8544
    Fax. +30 2310 99.8482, 8506
Laboratories

Laboratory of Geology and Palaeontology
Founded in 1929 as Laboratory of Geology, Petrology and Mineralogy and renamed to Laboratory of Geology and Paleontology in 1938.
Head: Professor Koufos, George.

Laboratory of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology
Founded in 1990.
Head: Professor Christaras, Basile.

Palaeontological Museum [website in Greek]
Opened in 1940 and officialy founded in 1990.
Curator: Assist. Prof. Kostopoulos, S. Dimitris.

Ammonite
   
Academic Staff
Kilias, Adamantios Professor kilias@geo.auth.gr Tel. +30 2310 99.8458
Koufos, George Professor koufos@geo.auth.gr 99.8464
Pavlides, Spyridon Professor pavlides@geo.auth.gr 99.8494, 99.8021
Christaras, Basile Professor christar@geo.auth.gr 99.8506
Syrides, George Associate Professor syrides@geo.auth.gr 99.8516
Tsoukala, Evaggelia Associate Professor lilits@geo.auth.gr 99.8517
Voudouris, Konstantinos Assistant Professor kvoudour@geo.auth.gr 99.8041
Kostopoulos, S. Dimitris Assistant Professor dkostop@geo.auth.gr  99.8540
Tranos, Markos Assistant Professor tranos@geo.auth.gr 99.8830
Marinos, Vassilios Lecturer marinosv@geo.auth.gr 99.8518
Chatzipetros, Alexandros Lecturer ac@geo.auth.gr 99.8512

Dimopoulos, Georgios

Former Professor gdimop@geo.auth.gr 99.8451
 Mountrakis, Dimosthenis Professor Emeritus dmountra@geo.auth.gr 99.8481
Soulios, Georgios Professor Emeritus gsoulios@geo.auth.gr 99.8511
Fytikas, Michael Professor Emeritus fytikas@geo.auth.gr 99.8475
       
Teaching and Technical Personnel
Thomaidou, Effimia (Dr)   efithom@geo.auth.gr 99.8546
Kaklis, Triantafyllos (Dr)   kaklis@geo.auth.gr  99.8152
Makedon, Thomas (Dr)   thomas@geo.auth.gr  99.8529
Mattas, Christos (Dr)   cmattas@geo.auth.gr  99.8519
Mintzaridis, Stergios   mintzari@geo.auth.gr 99.8588
Papachristou, Maria (Dr)   mariap@geo.auth.gr 99.8544
Sylvestrou, Ioanna (Dr)   sylvest@geo.auth.gr 99.8540
Christou, Dimitra   dimitra@geo.auth.gr 99.8558
Top of page